Contemplation- The answer to our Prayers

Contemplation

Contemplation



The Answering of Our Prayers

For some reason, this image had me thinking about my stepchildren and my one-on-one time with them.

My stepdaugther seeks being made to feel special during these times. As I have written before, she has not always gotten a lot of attention in her family, so when she and I are together, she seeks confirmation that, yes, she too is worthy of being chosen.

We have been blessed (God does hear my prayers) that often when I picked her up at school, a special event would have occurred- her report card, being selected for the play, and so on. And in these moments I was able to turn to her and say, “How lucky are we? We get to be here today to celebrate you.” Always met with a shy smile and a tilt of her head.

The refrain of my words, I am hoping, echoing in her head “You are special enough to be chosen and celebrated.”

My stepson is a different story. Our one-on-one time directed by his wanting to be heard for who he is. Our last adventure was again the local gas station convenience store and Wal-mart. I offer any and all possibilities for other activities alerting him to the fact he will not be a “bother” and can choose whatever he likes.

He stands firm in his choice. I think he finds the simplicity to be welcoming. We make our trip and on the way, I ask about his friend, Henry, who we had thought about taking with us.

I say to my stepson, “You really seem to like to play with Henry. I look forward to getting to know him better.”

My stepson asks, “Why?”

I tell him, “Because Henry is important to you. Henry becomes important to me.”

My stepson is silent for a bit. He thanks me for saying what I did because, in his words, his life has not been going that well. Funny to hear that from a 10-year-old boy. There is truth in the statement. Summer school did not go well for him and he is lost in the transition of awakening a bit, as all children do, and understanding who and what he is in all his different roles.

Perhaps the direct approach to our one-on-one time is a way to establish what he desires without having to please any one else. I don’t know.

But, I wonder this- I see in my stepchildren, despite the “same” activity, such different needs being expressed. I hope, in my own way, I meet these needs to a small extent.

I wonder if the God or Goddess looks upon each of us in a similar way. I wonder if somehow we don’t put out those signals, unconscious as they are in my stepchildren, of what we are truly seeking in our prayers.

Maybe our unspoken prayers are being met all along, we simply don’t know it.

19 thoughts on “Contemplation- The answer to our Prayers

  1. From where I stand, it seems to me that you are God’s answers to their prayers. What you are doing for those two is so caring and nurturing, it is an immeasurable gift. You are one of the few adults in their life who seems to care and goes out of their way to show it. They will always remember it. Blessings to you.

  2. I really love this post Kimberly! You know how I feel about your involvement in your children’s lives (I want to call them your children without the “step”) I think you are an amazing woman with so much insight on how to make a difference in their lives 🙂 And Eliza, above, is so correct…they will never forget it…never!
    Now this picture….STUNNING!!! I so love it!! 🙂

  3. I love reading about the nurturing times with the kids…you are very much tuned in to their needs…you are the blessing! I think God is like that-He knows what we need without a word being spoken.

  4. I loved reading about your one-on-one time. It is clear you meet each of them exactly where they are. You see them as the individuals they truly are, and they are comfortable being themselves around you. So awesome!

Leave a Reply

