Love and Marriage

Love and Marriage

Love and Marriage

I just returned from my dream vacation.
My husband and I traveled to NYC.
I am a city girl at heart. My husband is perfectly happy where we are in central CO.
I had wanted to take this trip with him for years, and we finally made it happen.

I had been to NYC, a little, before. He had never been. I did not know how he would take it. Would he dislike the crowds, the noises, all the walking or would he love it like I always had?

We had a wonderful time, an amazing time. It had been years since we traveled without children, so there was a sense of renewal in our time together.

And this is what I was left wondering- “Do we ever really know a person, even if we are married for years?”

I asked my husband this question while we were there. I asked him if he felt he really knew me. He stated, “I don’t know, but I think we have a very good understanding of each other.”

And I wonder for all of you have been married for a while ( or longer 🙂 ) – do you ever really feel you know the person? Or are you like me, a bit surprised at him or her still?

I think that is one of the things I delight in marriage- the sense of discovery that remains.

13 thoughts on “Love and Marriage

  1. I agree, Kim! Being married to someone who keeps evolving and surprises me quite often, is pretty lovely. Who knows if he’s actually changing, or revealing something I didn’t see in him before?! t can’t imagine it any other way, actually. So glad you enjoyed your dream vacation in a place you had been longing to visit. Glad you enjoyed your company, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

