Chicken Scratch

Grasping Hands

Grasping Hands

You – who were given hands
with the ability to open
in supplication
to receive the gift of blessings-

choose to grasp at the world as
if talons replaced fingers
and you had to chicken scratch your
way to existence-

Why?

I created this piece because this is how I sometimes feel, especially right now with so much going on.
I grasp and scratch at the world, symbolically, as if I had claws and talons, rather than opening my hands in gentleness to receive.

It’s hard to receive anything when you are scratching along with talons.

4 thoughts on “Chicken Scratch

  1. I feel exactly like you describe – especially when I’m at work. It’s just clawing for every little bit of ground that you can. Luckily, I have a great family that’s very supportive but there is no doubt that it’s a constant uphill climb.

Leave a Reply

