How Georgia O’Keeffe can Transform your Blogging/Art…and why not? Your Life

Becoming

Becoming

Georgia O’Keeffe is one of my favorite artists. I love how her work plays with perceptions and projections. For me, she beautifully asks so much of the viewer, almost as if to say, “I dare you to see what you see.”

Lately, Georgia has been on my mind. I consider her to be, at the moment, the guide to my creative life.

I once read the following quote by her:

“Before I put brush to canvas, I question ‘Is this mine? Is it influenced by some idea I have acquired from some man?’…I am trying with all my skill to do a painting that is all of woman, as well as all of me” – Georgia O’Keeffe

And I love it. As I begin to create a book proposal on the power of a woman’s body, I have spent time feeling lost. What is my next step? What form of art do I want to create right now and so on?

I found myself again and again turning to this quote in my mind. It is the guide I am using as I write the proposal and it is the guide I am using for the art I am creating.

I have always been one to question the randomness of my blog. One day I blog on narcissism, the next day, I write on spiritual art, and then I throw in a stepparenting blog here and there.

I have gone through “female” art phases, a phallic art phase, a random creation phase, a heart art phase, and so on…

“How do I come to know myself through my art and creations when I can not seem to get them consistent?” is a question I will ask myself.

I know some of you also question your art/blogging topics and wonder if they are what you really want to choose and what you really want to portray.

As you choose to create the blogs/art/life that best represents you, ask yourself, “Is this mine?” or “Is this me?” and let that be your guide.

14 thoughts on “How Georgia O’Keeffe can Transform your Blogging/Art…and why not? Your Life

    • Excellent point, Kate! You know I remember so many of your postings b/c they are unique and not the same… i.e., when you had bronchitis, finding Lee’s signature on a tile, the big (was it mums??) arrangements in TX, and of course your food blogs (because I really can’t cook and I like to live vicariously through those that can 🙂 )

      • I didn’t even list the one that has been on my mind a lot recently – the “facing timing in the shower” blog. You know how I love learning from other Moms. Well, I have filed that one away so I am not surprised and already prepared if my stepchildren decide that may be something they would like to try 🙂 Have a great day, Kate. Blessings!

  1. I think of your varied topics as aspects of your personality. They are ‘consistently’ you! We’re never the same day to day, and your blog reflects who you are, your thoughts, struggles, triumphs, your process of becoming…I think it is wonderfully authentic! 🙂

  2. Kim, sometimes I wonder if we are living parallel lives in our respective time zones! I LOVE this quote!

    ‘Is this mine? Is it influenced by some idea I have acquired from some man?’…I am trying with all my skill to do a painting that is all of woman, as well as all of me” – Georgia O’Keeffe

    That question is also at the forefront of my mind lately, in my writing, my art, my songs, my photos…what is mine, what have I inherited, how can I better honor the feminine??

    Mucho respectos for YOU
    🙂

    • oh, I am so, so glad the quote resonated with you. I am not surprised that it did. I can see you always “digging” with your work- trying to find out what is really there. It is critical for any artist- “What is mine?” Sometimes, I think we are surprised by the answer. BUt the most authentic art is the art guided by this question. I truly have enjoyed sharing our journey and so admire your work.

Leave a Reply

