The Irony Of the Narcissist’s Love of Mirrors

Mirror, Mirror

Mirror, Mirror

For all their love of mirrors, narcissistic people engage in little to no self-reflection.

I guess this all started with the myth and legend. Narcissus gazing upon himself never realizing what was him and what was reflection.

The irony between narcissists love of their reflection and their complete inability to see themselves clearly is completely lost on the narcissist.

Because narcissists can not (or are unwilling) to see their own reflection, they, thus by definition, can not self-reflect.

You or I may be engaged in any number of situations in life and will self-reflect either in the moment or much later on what it all meant and the role we played within the engagement.

This is an impossible task for a narcissist. Narcissists do not see “self” in any situation.

Their gaze turns only outwards, a narcissistic light sweeping over the land.

They are the viewer only in relation to others, never in relation to self.

Nothing is ever the narcissist’s fault, for it can not be. They are only present in mere reflection.

13 thoughts on “The Irony Of the Narcissist’s Love of Mirrors

  1. Reblogged this on galesmind and commented:
    A Narcissist can never see blame in themselves even if they are wrong they convince themselves they are the victims. A friend of a narcissist who doesn’t reflect their glory is as disposable as a used tissue and there are no lengths they will not go to to regain that glory. Lies mean nothing, betrayal means nothing. Only their own grand visions of themselves matter.

  2. The saddest part is, our culture is full of narcissists who can’t see themselves because the definition of self absorption also has a spectrum. We all think, I’m not self absorbed… I do xy z. But we’re clueless about Abc type thing. 😦

  3. I think Eliza made a good point, too – I don’t have narcissists in my life, but I’ve had my fair share of vampire personalities! I tend to draw them to me like a moth to a flame – I’m guessing it has to do with how much I can give (thus how much they can take from me) and probably because there is a life lesson that I haven’t quite learned, so it has to keep repeating on me!

  4. Pingback: Reblog from Light's House: Narcissists are Two-Faced, Vindictive, Smear People Who Oppose Them, Etc. - Nyssa's Hobbit Hole

  5. Thanks for sharing this!

    Narcissists have their own temples that they embellish with the offerings of self righteousness. Sometimes I feel the sadism in them. I sometimes can’t figure out how to deal with them.

Leave a Reply

