“If I am…” – A Technique to Overcome Negative Thinking

Dragonfly

Dragonfly

If I am to experience the self-hate within me,
I must also believe an equal measure of self-love exists within me.

If I am to experience the pain within me,
I must also believe an equal measure of freedom exists within me.

If I am to experience the self-doubt within me,
I must also believe an equal measure of self-belief exists within me.

If I am to experience the desire for death within me,
I must also believe an equal measure of desire for living exists within me.

If I am to experience the fear within me,
I must also believe an equal measure of trust exists within me.

If I am to experience the chaos within me,
I must also believe an equal measure of peace exists within me.

I am the balance point of existence.
Whatever resides within me finds its counterpart with in my Being.

I may experience the self-hate, the pain, the chaos and more and I may, for a moment,
stand unaware and believe these are my definitions.

But, truth be told, each aspect exists because its partner exists in equal measure.

—-
I don’t know about you, but my mind can get carried away on very negative thoughts relating to myself.
Only recently have I learned a technique to help emerge from this practice.

Whatever negativity of self I experience, I do not deny it. But, I counter it with the opposite idea.

If I think to myself, “I hate myself”. I remind myself with the following “Whatever self-hate I experience, I have an equal measure of self-love.”

Would it be great not to feel self-hate? Yes, of course, but I apparently am not there yet.

What I take heart in is that I have equally strong self-love otherwise I would not exist.

We are the microcosm of the balance point, each with our own strengths and weaknesses, beautifully symmetrical within our own selves.

Whatever pain, fear and chaos you experience internally, you have equal measure of love, peace and freedom within you.

7 thoughts on ““If I am…” – A Technique to Overcome Negative Thinking

  1. “Each aspect exists because it’s partner exists in equal measure”…. I like that-reminds me of physics… And yes, it would be great to not feel self hate, guilt, hurt…but alas, we would have nothing to compare the measure of beauty with! (Wow-so profound…I didn’t see that one coming)😉

  2. Kim, I love how you are working through this idea. The exercise sounds helpful in moving through negative thoughts and accessing our loving essence and heart.
    Its our thinking that creates the idea of dualities, equality and balance.
    My belief is that when we recognize a thought that brings struggle, we can access our heart and loving essence. This loving part of us is infinite and is not limited at all 🙂
    Val x

Leave a Reply

