Would you Even Recognize Your Own Reflection?

Reflection

Reflection

Lately I have been doing a lot of “automatic” drawing. I start with one pastel and a large sheet of paper and begin drawing and working with what emerges.

I drew two circles on this one and then some other lines. Suddenly, I saw the eyes of two fish staring at one another. Surrounding this became, somewhat, the image of an owl. So the eyes of the fish are also the eyes of the owl.

I liked the idea of these two fish looking at each other, seeing their reflection contained in the wisdom of the owl.

I wonder how accurately we would recognize our own reflection in the world if we were confronted with it. Of course, I do not mean one’s physical reflection only. What if we were confronted with a reflection of our energy and way of Being in this world?

Would we even recognize ourselves?

Part of me worries that we would not. So many work so diligently to be aware, to put out “good” energy of a high vibration, yet internally still feel “low” and “unworthy”.

I wish these individuals could for one minute see the reflection of their own True Beauty in this world.

Artists and writers, to me, constantly engage with this reflective energy. Perhaps that is why so many of us are drawn to these acts. We come to see our own reflections more accurately and thus, begin to know our selves more deeply.
—-
Two fishes are a common symbol for the sign of Pisces, but usually the fish are facing in opposite directions.

There is an African creation myth in which two seeds in the cosmos birthed two fish beginning the act of creation and a new state of awareness.

And, of course, twin symbolism is often associated with creation and evolution of the self, perfectly balanced.

11 thoughts on “Would you Even Recognize Your Own Reflection?

  1. I always feel that my soul looks like a soft pink flower, a wild one, grwoing freely, not in a garden, but in a forest or a meadow ๐Ÿ™‚ Growing by a gentle, but deep strenght ๐Ÿ™‚ I love your art and your words about your art Kim! ๐Ÿ™‚ It is so lovely! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Dear Kimberly,

    What you touch on here remind me of what I love about dreams so much. There is a school of thought that dreams present to you a “picture” or reflection of your psychic energy, and simultaneously, your somatic state. In this way, I find dreams incredibly illuminating – as they often present a reflection of our energy we may not recognize at all in waking life. I also love how you deliver a positive spin on this idea why reminding us to reflect on our essence, the pure part that remains “unstruck.” Thank you for your beautiful drawings and thoughts!!

    Much Love from a fellow creative/reflective sister!
    Amanda

  3. Here is one of my struggles: “So many work so diligently to be aware, to put out โ€œgoodโ€ energy of a high vibration, yet internally still feel โ€œlowโ€ and โ€œunworthyโ€.” I am working on my self-worth! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Beautiful art, as always! xoxo – Kate

  4. I adore this post. It really touched me and honestly, for me, the answer is no. I wouldn’t recognise myself. Not right now, though I’m working on it! Thank you for this my friend xx

  5. Thought provoking…I have often seen my reflection and thought that it is merely a shell-housing my spirit. Yes, that is my “house”, but the energy of my spirit is so much more! I often find pictures that represent what I feel that my spirit would look like…..this is very.very.deep๐Ÿ’›

Leave a Reply

