What a Narcissit Hears about You…

If you are in a relationship with a Narcissist, would you like to know what a Narcissist hears about you- Nothing. Nada. Not a single thing.

Are you talking about yourself around a Narcissist? Save your breath.

Your words are mere empty prattle lost amidst the on-going, never-ending conversation they are having within themselves.

We are all familiar with the story of Narcissist and Echo.  Although the character of Echo is relevant for a number of reasons, it is also symbolically significant in the physical sense  brought to my attention this past weekend.  I was hearing a little child yell “Echo”  “Echo” in an empty staircase.  His “Echos”, of course, were met with resounding “echos”.

Have you ever tried to talk over an echo?  It’s impossible to be clearly heard in an echo-ing situation, and that is what happens when you speak to a Narcissist.

If you are not talking about them, they only hear “echos” within their own mind of what they want to hear.  Reverberating through them are ideas about how the world should be, how the world has failed them, how misunderstood they are, how everyone else has problems that in turn are causing THEM problems, and so on, and so on, and so on…. echo…echo…echo…

If you are like me, you have perhaps tried different tactics to gain the Narcissist’s attention.  It’s like banging a cymbal in an echo-chamber. No matter what technique you use, nothing will be heard.

I actually witnessed this recently. A Narcissist in my life was presented information- by trained professionals, no less- about something in her life. She heard none of it.  I am not kidding- not a word.  Conversations ended and this Narcissist summarized her take on the discussions with a horrifying lack of awareness.  Not a single word spoken penetrated her mind, all she heard were the echos…

5 thoughts on “What a Narcissit Hears about You…

  1. The best tactic I have found to deal with the Narcissist/Sociopath in my life is to say absolutely nothing. Nada. Ziltch. Zero.

    He cannot stand to have empty air hanging between us and will prattle on and on about whatever subject he’s desperately trying to sway my mind on (to his way of thinking of course). He inevitably spills more information to me than he wants me to know and I find out all sorts of information that I wouldn’t have known if I was attempting to actually converse with him.

    He has almost figured out my game, so the conversations have gotten shorter and shorter. Win for me either way! 🙂

  2. LOL! It’s funny, but mostly sad. I know that when I am not really listening to someone I always miss something important. I can’t imagine constantly doing that. How do they survive!

Leave a Reply

